Law Office of
Can the police impound my vehicle?
Unfortunately, yes, and it can be for up to 30 days. The California Vehicle Code allows for police to immediately seize and impound a vehicle involved in a motor vehicle speed contest, reckless driving, exhibition of speed, suspended license, no license, if driver is arrested, handicap parking space without a handicap placard or unlawful use of a handicap placard, and other situations.
Often, the vehicle can be released earlier than 30 days, with a little bit of effort in the right direction. If not, the owner does have a right to a hearing but that does not mean the vehicle will be released.
Regardless, we have often used the impound fees to negotiate hardship situations or off-set criminal fines and penalty fees. For most of these criminal charges, we get some type of dismissal in criminal court. This usually helps soften the blow of the impound.
18411 Crenshaw Blvd Suite 400 Torrance CA 90504 US +1.3108175899 ContactAttorney@DastrupLaw.com
DUI Criminal Law Attorney | Criminal Lawyer | Defense Attorney | Lawyers | Torrance | Long Beach | Los Angeles | Orange County | Southern California
Copyright © Law Office of David Dastrup | All Rights Reserved